Legal Services To Achieve The Best Possible Results
Bucks County Probationary License Lawyer
In Bucks County, you need a car to make ends meet. If your license has been suspended or revoked, you may qualify for a probationary license. A probationary license, or, as some call it, a “bread and butter” license, allows those who have otherwise lost their driving privileges to operate a non-commercial vehicle between the hours of 6 am and 7 pm. PennDOT knows that some people who are suspended still need to provide for their families and go to and from work. While PennDOT is strict on those who violate the law and have their license suspended, they understand that everyone is human. You should understand that a Probationary License is not a right, but rather a kindness PennDOT may afford you based upon your particular circumstances and suspension/revocation period completed thus far.
If you are interested in securing a probationary license, The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. can help. We can help assist you in regards to your status, assist you in applying for a probationary license, and, in the event you'd like to request additional hours beyond 6 am-7 pm, represent your interests in making requesting this exception of PennDOT.
Requirements of a Probationary License
While a Probationary License is a gift from PennDOT, the requirements for obtaining a probationary license are fairly strict. Firstly you must have already completed a minimum of 3 to 6 years of your suspension or revocation. This requirement is based on which violations led to your suspension or revocation. Additionally, if you have any outstanding judgments or citations, you must resolve them, and have all restoration requirements completed. Essentially, any and all related matters must be resolved in order to potentially qualify for this privilege.
In the event your license has been revoked, you must take and pass a driver's road test prior to receiving a Probationary License. Likewise, if you have never been licensed in Pennsylvania, but have already served at least 5 years of another State's License Suspension, you may be eligible for a Pennsylvania probationary license.
If part of suspension is a result of a DUI or DUI-related offense or you’ve been accepted into the ARD program for DUI in the past, PennDOT requires that you wait for 7 years to pass prior to being eligible for a probationary license. And if you have ever been convicted of homicide by vehicle - whether DUI related or not - you cannot apply or obtain a probationary license.
Why Do I Need an Attorney?
At The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C., our experienced Bucks County attorneys have helped drivers to obtain probationary licenses, from Quakertown to Richboro and everywhere in between. The requirements for a bread and butter license are so strict that many aren’t sure if they qualify or not. You can rest assured in knowing that we have routinely seen and successfully handled situations just like yours, and can help you through the process. If you are attempting to obtain a Probationary License in Bucks County, hiring an intelligent and experienced defense attorney is a good first step in protecting your rights and your license.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.